I have arrived - Reisverslag uit Oxford Street, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu I have arrived - Reisverslag uit Oxford Street, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

I have arrived

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

23 Augustus 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Oxford Street

Today was travelling day.

When my alarm went off this morning, nerves kicked in. Did I pack everything I needed? Was my suitcase going to be too heavy? Would they let my rucksack, which looked huge, still count as hand-luggage? I didn't pack any DVD's, could I not at least fit one in somewhere?
On another note, was I emotionally ready to leave? Did I even want to go at all? Well, there was no going back now. This was going to happen. And I must say, a big part of me was, and still is, very happy that it was going to happen.

After receiving a beautiful present from all of my loved ones, I said my final goodbyes to our cats, alive and not. Then it was finally time for mom, Winnie and me to leave for the airport). As soon as we got to the airport I could get in line for checking in. I let Winnie load my suitcase of exactly 20 kilograms onto the conveyer belt as I got my passport and ticket checked. After that I had about 5 to 10 minutes to sit down with my mother and sister before I had to say my final goodbyes to them. As expected, a few tears were shed, but I didn't feel so nervous anymore. I was ready. My journey to London could begin.

It took forever to get through customs, but once that was done (without having to go through an additional bag check, which was a first), the only thing I could do was wait to get on the plane.

The real pickle came once I'd arrived in the UK, or so I thought.
I had to reclaim my baggage, which took no time at all. After that I had to buy my own train ticket to get to Liverpool Station in London, which I could easily do at one of the ticket machines. I did not need to go to the service desk or ask someone for help. After arriving at the train station, I needed to get a ticket to travel by subway, which turned out to be the most dificult of the three, because the ticket machine wouldn't accept my bank card, and I had to go stand in line for the service desk. But in the end, I am now a proud owner of my very first Oyster card.

Because all the traveling went by so easily, I was way too early to check in at the hotel I'm staying in during my first week, but I was able to store my luggage there while I went out to eat lunch and go to the supermarket. In the end I was still too early for normal check in, but the nice lady at the reception desk had made sure my room was all ready to go.

Now I've got the rest of the afternoon and night all to myself. In an hour or so I'll go out to get something to eat and after that I'll have a nice night of Doctor Who, along with the rest of Britain.

I'm having a blast!

You'll hear again from me soon.

Ps. I want to thank everybody who pitched in on my cookery book: I Could Eat. I look forward to reading all of your messages to me and cook the recipes you wrote down for me. I'll let you know how they tasted!

  • 23 Augustus 2014 - 17:14

    Moetie:

    Leuk stukje hon! Have fun!!!

  • 23 Augustus 2014 - 17:24

    Pap:

    Mooi stukje. Fijn te lezen dat alles voorspoedig is verlopen. De koffer is wel erg gehavend zo te zien.
    Toch wel jammer, dat mijn terugkeer van Chicago te laat was om jou uit te zwaaien. Maken we goed over twee weken als mam en ik spullen komen nabrengen. Veel plezier met Doctor Who vanavond. Ik kijk uit naar de volgende verslagen.
    xxxPap

  • 23 Augustus 2014 - 20:06

    Margelly:

    Heerlijk om te lezen that everything went Well !

  • 23 Augustus 2014 - 20:21

    Elly:

    Hoi Annik,

    Wat super dat je avontuur begonnen is. Leuk om je verslag te kunnen lezen.
    Heel veel plezier de komende tijd. Geniet ervan.

    Groetjes Elly

  • 24 Augustus 2014 - 13:23

    Lise:

    Hey Annik!

    Fijn om te lezen dat alles is goed gegaan!
    Ik wens je heel erg veel plezier in Londen, geniet er elk moment van. :)

    Lise.

  • 24 Augustus 2014 - 17:56

    M&M:

    Hallo Annik,
    Mooi om te lezen dat het goed gaat.
    Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeel veel suc6

Tags: london, first day

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 392
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12945

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: