Finally, my stuff!! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Finally, my stuff!! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Finally, my stuff!!

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

07 September 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

This week I started my first project at work. For this project I had to shadow my mentor first for a day or two, to get to know how to work with some programs I'd never seen before in my life. After those, slightly tedious, days in which I did learn a lot, I could start to work on my own. Of course my first couple of tries did not go as fast as I had hoped, because doing something yourself is a lot harder than just looking at someone doing the work for you, apparently. That said, I did enjoy the work I was doing immensely. Now, there were some complications to the whole task. Aren't there always? These have to be overcome next week, I hope. It looks like I'm going to have a busy one again!

As for my weekend, it was parents weekend!! Finally, I got me some more clothes, a few posters and, of course, MORE KÄFFCHEN! (In layman terms, you would call that caramel latte coffee.)
And yes, it was nice to see the parents again. Saturday morning, I let them clean my room, because why do it yourself, when your parents are in town? We spent the early afternoon, strolling through town to do some grocery shopping and to get some handy tools for my room, like a swiffer sweeper (which apparently is a hard thing to find here in London) and a water cooker, because our shared one is just a bit too icky for me.
After we'd found everything we needed, we went back to my room and did some redecorating. We moved my desk arround, put up some posters and reserved a spot on my wall where I can hang all the post cards I'm expecting from you all (I'll leave my address at the bottom of this blog entry).

Today we went out to see Shakespeare's Globe, which was absolutely marvelous. My jaw just dropped when I walked in, that's how beautiful I thought it was. Of course it's not the real thing, built for Shakespeare, but a mere (second!) reconstruction, but still it looked amazing. And just the feel of standing in such an important place of theatrical history, made me want to jump on stage and wave my arms around dramatically while shouting "To be, or not to be?", sadly, we were not allowed to enter the stage.
Our tour guide, an old and very small lady, who had been working at this globe ever since they built it, was a wonderful woman, who had a good sense of humor. She told us everything there was to know about the Globe with an enthusiasm that made you love the place even more. The only downside to this visit was that during our tour, the crew came in to set up some stuff for the next performance. Because of the great accoustic inside the theatre, they drowned out the sound of our tour guide and were therefore very distracting. Because of their badly planned set-up, there wasn't much time for pictures. Luckily, I had my dad with me, who managed to shoot some very nice pictures after all.
After the tour, I managed to buy a nice Macbeth mug, and, most important, a beautiful book called: The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (I look forward to a lot of heavy reading).
The rest of our afternoon we spent walking through Camden Town. A lot of things to see and photograph there, every time you visit the place.

I had a good week and an amazing weekend. Thank you, mom and dad, I had a lot of fun! Come again soon! (Rooms don't clean themselves, you know...)

And now, for all the people who would like to earn themselves a spot on my wall, this is my address:
73 Chaucer House
Churchill Gardens
SW1V 3DP
London
UK

Look out for me again next week!

  • 08 September 2014 - 00:13

    Paul:

    Nice how you've combined strolling and trawling. Never seen that before.

  • 08 September 2014 - 00:14

    Paul:

    Nice how you've combined strolling and trawling. Never seen that before.

  • 08 September 2014 - 00:27

    Annik Delissen:

    Haha, thank you for informing me of that! Let's correct that mistake immediately!

  • 08 September 2014 - 08:13

    Elly:

    He Annik,

    Je kamer ziet er al een stuk fleuriger uit nu je wat opgehangen hebt.
    Lekker dat pap en mam bij je langs zijn geweest.
    Altijd meegenomen dat ze dan ook nog eens je kamer poetsen natuurlijk :)
    Geniet van je tijd daar.
    Die opdrachten gaan je lukken.
    Zet 'm op!

    Groetjes,
    Elly

  • 08 September 2014 - 22:00

    Angeline:

    Leuk om vanmiddag, al wachtend op onze vlucht terug naar huis, je weekverslag te lezen.
    Reken er maar op dat er snel een datum geprikt gaat worden voor een volgend tripje. Ik zal mijn poetskloffie vast klaarkleggen :).
    Het was een super leuk weekend en fijn om te zien hoe en waar je woont. Ben benieuwd wat voor leuks je nog allemaal gaat meemaken.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 289
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12944

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: