Annik in Love with Shakespeare - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Annik in Love with Shakespeare - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Annik in Love with Shakespeare

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

21 September 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

My week at work wasn't very eventful. Everybody around me was very busy with stuff I haven't learned yet, and nobody had time to teach me, so I spend my week asking around if anybody had any work for me. Luckily, there was always something I could do, but it usually took some time to arrive at my desk, so I had a lot of time to spare. I hope this is going to change next week. I'd love to learn some new stuff!

My weekend was very eventful though. Yesterday I went out and found a shop called Forbidden Planet. If you are into television series such as Doctor Who and Sherlock, like me, you can eat your heart out at this shop. Books, collectables, toys, you name it, they have it. I spend an hour just walking around looking at all the stuff they had to offer. I didn't buy anything, yet, but you just wait, I'll be back!

In the evening it was finally time to use the tickets that had been in my purse for weeks now. I was finally going to see Shakespeare in Love! Together with Peter I went all the way up to the balcony to get to our seats. We had a bit of a laugh about how high up we were, but nonetheless the stage wasn't that far off. I took a few pictures, which I wasn't allowed to do, but I can be very sneaky.
After a short wait, the light dimmed and people came walking on the stage. From that moment, I was hooked. One moment everybody was running up and down the stage and stuff was happening everywhere, the next there was a beatiful emotional scene. I was amazed by how fast the actors could jump from one emotion to the other in a scene change. The best example for this is the scene where William Shakespeare is in tears and right after it a scene starts in which he is directing his play. It really baffles me how the actor is able to throw himself from one emotion into the next in less than a second.
Needless to say, I was watching this play with a very big smile on my face from beginning to end (except during sad moments, because those were sad). And when all the actors started to do a dance right after the play (because that's what always happened after Shakespeare's plays), I actually had tears in my eyes. The joy showing on those faces, made me think back to all the times I'd been on stage and felt like that after my play was over. At that moment, I really longed to get back up there again myself.

After the play Peter and I went to a pub nearby. There was this lovely bartender, who kept calling me "love", which I still find absolutely amazing! And he let me shake my own cocktail. I'd never done that before and I was absolutely rubbish at it, but it was fun nonetheless.

Today I went to see a film called The Riot Club. A-ma-zing film! I would like to recommend it to everyone who reads this!

As for your recipes, these are the one's I've cooked this week:
Friedali's Pizza Quesadilla's
Kimberly and Joyce's Pasta met rode pesto en spekjes

For tonight it's a mashup off Joke's Broccoli-courgettesoep and Anke & Bjorns Maaltijd-courgettesoep.

My dinners have been great so far!

Next week I'm off to the National Galery with some of my soon to be classmates. Looking forward to it!

  • 05 Oktober 2014 - 21:03

    Friedali:

    Hoe was de Pizza Quesadilla's ;) ?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 278
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12939

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: