Very happy moments - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Very happy moments - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Very happy moments

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

12 Oktober 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

I've got my phone back! Appearently it fixed itself, because when it arrived at the repair shop, there wasn't anything wrong with it anymore. Very strange. I'm not complaining though, because I can finally use my phone again!

We have a new intern in our team, Zora, and I got to help with her training. It does feel a bit weird, having someone look over your shoulder while you're doing your work, but when you know what you're doing and you can explain while you're doing it, it's okay. At least, that's what I think.
But when I'm learning something new myself and not only Zora, but also my supervisor is looking at what I'm doing, it gets difficult. For me, it resulted in me making some very stupid mistakes, and wondering what they must be thinking about my skills.
Well, I found out what my supervisor was thinking at the end of the week, because she told me that usually, it takes a couple of months to teach someone to do quality checks (on trailers), but I can already do it on my own in one month. I guess I'm not doing so bad after all...

My Saturday afternoon I spent in the British Museum. When I arrived, it reminded me of my first visit to London. Apearently we went there aswell, I recognised the building, because we sat there for a while and I acted silly (you might've seen some pictures on Facebook a couple of years back), but I didn't remember actually going inside. Which, I guess, we didn't, because I didn't recognise the inside at all when I went in. I think it's a really beautiful building, especially the large entrance hall with glass ceiling.
Because the museum is so big, you can't possibly see it all in one go. I stuck to the rooms that were most interesting according to the map, and some rooms I wanted to see myself. I ended up seeing mummies, the hammer of Thor (a miniature one, that is), ancient Drama masks, Parthenon sculptures, some creepy African art with guns, and a lot more. It was a cultural day.

Today I did some work for school. I looked up a few texts for our reading and translation project. I chose a text about the He for She campaign, one about the recent independence vote in Scotland, and a short one about the gay kiss at the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games.
Then I found out that I didn't really have to do anything else, because I'm already keeping up to date about what I'm doing during my internship and my time in London by keeping a weekly blog, so the afternoon ended up being pretty quiet.
Tonight I went to see a film together with Zora called Wish I Was Here. Not something I would've picked, but I enjoyed it anyway.

Now, it's getting late and I still need to do some dishes and take a shower.
I'll leave you with a few recipes I tried this week:
Last Sunday I made Sjoerd, Debbie, Angie and Ian's Lekker voor zo of bij de borrel (which is a mix of minced meat and tomato sauce covered with tortilla chips and cheese). Unfortunetaly, I left it in the oven too long, so most of the cheese was burened and I could pick most of the chips off again, but there were more then enough left in the bag and the the whole thing didn't mess up the sauce, so I still had a good dinner!
I also made opa's Kipfilet in Indische Tomatensaus, which tasted very very very good. When I was making it, I really didn't think it would be any good to be honest. There's so many different things that go in, like sugar, vinegar, soy sauce and sambal. But the result was astonishing. At these moments I really understand why my grandfather is a cook!

See you again next week, when I'll be talking about the Chocolate Show...

  • 13 Oktober 2014 - 10:05

    Angeline:

    We zijn destijds inderdaad ook bij the British Museum geweest (en pap heeft daar foto's gemaakt) Binnen zijn we toen niet geweest, er is zoveel moois te zien in London dat we eigenlijk alleen alle buitenkanten te zien krijgen en weer verder gaan als pap het van alle kanten gefotografeerd heeft. En al het wachten van ons levert dan natuurlijk "Picture boms and Goofy pictures" op van jou ;).
    Het was weer leuk om je stukje te lezen en fijn om te zien dat je zoveel uit je trip haalt!
    Geweldig dat er juist tijdens jou verblijf een chocolade festival gehouden wordt..... chocoholic

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 261
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12937

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: