Crowds and Solitude - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Crowds and Solitude - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Crowds and Solitude

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

16 November 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

My week started off with a lot of nerves. No, there's nothing wrong at work or anything like that. There was only the question if I was going to see Sam Claflin in the flesh on Monday evening. I would be about thirty minutes late to the premiere, so there was a fair chance that Sam would already have been interviewed when I arrived. This fear only grew when I watched interview after interview with, among others, Liam Hemsworth, Josh Hutcherson, Natalie Dormer and Jennifer Lawrence, and hear or saw nothing of him. Right at the end, when Josh Hutcherson had just been interviewed and everyone around me started to leave, I was as disappointed as I could be (yes, I know, I had seen all these amazing actors and actresses, and didn't even appreciate it, but I came for this one man in particular!), but then everybody at the front started chearing once more and when I looked up, guess who was standing on the interview stage... Oh yes, it was him all right, it was Sam Claflin. I felt like the luckiest girl in the world at that moment. I managed to snap two quick pictures of one of the big screens, because a lot of people had already left and I was finally able to get a good view at it. Unfortunetaly I cannot show them to you yet. But I'll post them on facebook in a few weeks.

My week at work has been one of ups and downs. At the beginning of the week I felt like I was being really sloppy. Every time I sent a delivery email, my supervisor had to call me to her to tell me I'd forgotten to mention something, didn't change the name of a document properly or just sent the thing to the completely wrong people. Even when I was really paying attention I managed to miss something. I was really feeling down about that, because I'd just received such a positive evaluation and now I was showing everybody I didn't really deserve it. Luckily, I managed to get back on the right track during the week and now everything is going as it should!

On Thursday, I had a big night out. Together with a Melissa and Peter I went to a screening of the Rocky Horror Picture Show in the Royal Albert Hall. For those of you who don't know what it is, it's a film that came out in the 70s and has become a cult classic in America and Britain. The film has a real big fanbase of people who like to dress up as the characters of the film (I suggest you look up Frank N Furter, you'll know what I was confronted with) and who like to yell out remarks during the film and try to interact as much as possible with the things happening on screen. Example, during one song in the film two characters are out at night in the rain and they sing about the fact that they see a light, so everybody holds up their phones, or something else that gives of light, and starts waving it around in time with the music, there was also someone sitting behind me and my friends with a water gun. It was just a small one, thank god. Another one, there is a song called Time Warp, that has a certain dance in it called (surprise) the Time Warp. I think you can guess what happens when that song is up.
To summarise, I had an amazing evening watching a very weird film and some very weird, but amazing people around me. I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Yesterday, I took the train to Oxford and spent the afternoon in its peace and quiet. The place feels like a totally different world compared to the crowds of London. Especially when I was climbing this little mountain all by myself, not surrounded by an entire crowd of people taking selfies, and I could actually look around and see the surroundings without someone standing in my way, I felt really calm and happy. I hadn't even noticed I needed this, until I was experiencing it.
I walked around one of the university courtyards and saw a dining hall. I couldn't imagine actually living there as a student. Everything looked so expensive, like there should be sign not to touch anything. It was fun to look inside one of the entrances of the student accomodations. It was a mess, just like any other student flat. So different than what you see on the outside.
I also found a shop called Alice's Shop entirely dedicated to Alice In Wonderland. I fell in love with a Disappearing Cheshire Cat Mug. My coffee today tasted so good...

Today, all I did were chores. I had to do my grocery shopping, and it was my week again on the cleaning schedule, so I cleaned the common rooms of the flat and, since I was cleaning anyway, I also took care of my own room.

That's about it for the week. No new recipes tried this week. I'll see if I can do something about that next week.

Tags: London, Oxford

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 302
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12943

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: