Exciting stuff - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Exciting stuff - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Exciting stuff

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

30 November 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

After this week, I know what I'll be doing during the last month and a half of my internship. Last Tuesday, Ms Copper, my mentor from school, came to visit me at work. We had a lovely conversation about how I'm doing at the moment, not just at work, but also during my freetime. There were no complaints from either side.
After that, we spoke with my supervisor as well, and we determined the things I will be doing during my last few weeks with Deluxe. I am going to learn how to do quality checks on dual streams, A dual stream means that there is a film, that has subtitles for two languages at the same time. Each language has one line of text (apart from a few exceptions), which makes translating a bit harder sometimes. There are some differences to doing quality checks on these subtitles as well, so those I am going to learn. Furthermore, I am going to have a sneak peak of what the other teams in our office are doing. It will give me a sense of the workflow in the company. Where does a file start? How many people are actually working on it before it is sent out as a final file?
Exciting stuff to look forward to!
Something else that's very positive: it is now official that I will be working as a freelancer for the PSS London team after my internship. If it was possible, they would love to keep me right here in the office, but as it is, I need to finish school first. But I can work as a freelancer for them from home, so that is what I'll be doing from January on. I'm pretty psyched about that!

On Friday, my visitors arrived! It had been about 2 months since I'd seen my parents and even longer since I'd seen my grandparents, so I was really looking forward to seeing them again. When I arrived at their hotel, I was immediately greated by Winnie, who was just walking out the door. And when mom noticed Winnie and me hugging from inside the hotel, she litteraly ran towards us to give me a welcome hug of her own. We were all really excited.
After having hugged everybody, we went out to my room to drop of Winnie's stuff. My grandpa concluded that I have a really small room, which I wholehaertedly agree with, but luckily it's still not too small and the room works out just fine for me.
That night, we had dinner at the hotel. I told everyone everything that was new with me and they brought me up to speed on everything I needed to know about the stuff that happened back home.
After dinner, Winnie and I went to my room and we enjoyed the rest of our evening together.

The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel again, after which we took the bus to the Big Ben. From there, we walked towards Trafalgar Square. Grandpa took a picture together with one of the Horse Guards at Horse Guards Parade, and also nearly got walked over by one of the guards on foot (believe me, I know that feeling).
From Trafalgar Square we took a bus that was supposed take us past several London sights. It did that, but it also took us through the less beautiful parts of London. Not that my grandparents seemed to mind, they had great fun, sitting on the upper deck and all the way up the front of the bus. It was really fun to see them have such a good time, just looking around at the people walking past and making their comments.
After that bus tour, we walked around Covent Garden, and then it was time to go back to the hotel again for some well earned rest.
We had dinner at Nando's that evening, after which Winnie and I went to my room again and the rest went over to the hotel.
That night, my alarm went off at 3:45, because Winnie and I had to be back at the hotel again at 4:30. I walked over to the busstation with my visitors, where we said our goodbyes. When everybody was getting on the bus, I left them and I made my way back to my room, where I climbed back into bed right away. The rest of the day, I didn't really feel like being active, so I spent my day tidying up my room and watching at television series called Hex.

Tomorrow, I already have something to look forward to, as the world premiere of The Hobbit Battle of the Five Armies will be held in London that night. I will be there, and I'll try to take some pictures.
Next Friday will be a big day at work, because we have quite a large project coming up that day. I'll probably need to be in a bit earlier for it as well, but I kind of look forward to it anyway. It's something out of the ordinary and I like the subject of the project, so working extra hard probably won't be problem for me.

On the eating front, I emptied my fridge this week, so I didn't cook that many new things. I only tried one new recipe today:
Nancies Family Recipy - Chicken. I wasn't entirely happy with what I produced. I overcooked the chicken a bit, which made it dry, and the white wine sauce wasn't seasoned enough. I'll have to give it a second try sometime!

Talk to you again next week!

Ps. Dad, thanks for all the beautiful pictures!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 318
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12975

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: