Queen of the Kitchen - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Queen of the Kitchen - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Queen of the Kitchen

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

14 December 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

I have been QC-ing features this week (otherwise known as entire films), of which I am very proud. Before I was mostly working with trailers, I had delivered a feature once or twice, but this week there were quite a few. And not just any language, I might add, no, languages like Hindi and Tamil (the latter, I didn’t even know existed). It’s quite hard to do QC on these languages, since they have their own alphabet and you can’t understand any bit of the text. The only thing I could do was check punctuation, italics and all that kind of stuff. It was fun though, to work on a full film. It makes you feel kind of special to be able to see parts of a film before it is actually released.

I went to the Deluxe Christmas Party this week. Sadly, I didn’t stay that long, because I was feeling really tired and was not up for all the very loud and bad music that was being played at the club we went to. I think I can blame my tiredness on skipping my Saturday night’s sleep, it has followed me around the entire week.
From what I heard the next day, the party wasn’t that grand anyway. The music was so loud nobody could actually talk and there were so many people from so many different locations that you didn’t really know anybody anyway. Conclusion, I didn’t miss a thing. And next Friday, I’ll have another chance, because then it’s the Deluxe Soho Square Christmas party. I have only heard positive things about the previous years, so that will definitely be a good one.
Last Friday, it was national Christmas Jumper Day in Great Britain. A great chance to buy one of those hideous sweaters and wear it to work for a day. It was great to see all my colleagues walking around like that too. My supervisor had bought a sweater with actual bells sewn on it. I think she regretted it at the end of the day, because you could hear her every move.

Over the weekend I did some baking. Last week my team had cake at work, because our new member had delivered his first final file. This event made everybody realise that I hadn’t baked one yet (and I delivered my first final file ages ago). I was under the impression that they just didn’t do that with interns, but I was wrong. Next week, my team expects cake. So, yesterday I “baked” Arretjescake. I hope they’ll like it.
But, I already had baking on the program, because on Friday during the Christmas celebration, everybody who wants to, can cook something. I’d decided to bake chocolate chip cookies with cranberries, because I would be able to make them this weekend and they would last until Friday. I made the batter today, but it has to chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours, but more than a day is recommended. So, I will be doing the baking later on this week. The batter already looks (and tastes) great though.

And those actually were the highs of my weekend. I did a lot of lying around, watching speed skating the rest of the time. I think I won’t be so tired next week.

As for recipes, no new ones tried this week. Maybe next week. We’ll see.

Tags: London, Baking, Lazy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 293
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12979

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: