First times - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu First times - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

First times

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

31 Augustus 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

This week has been a week of firsts.

First, my first day at work. Although I'd already vistited Deluxe Media Europe during my trip to London a few weeks ago, I was nervous as hell Tuesday. But when I arrived at work, there was no room for my nerves, because I was straight away thrown into a project that had to be finished that day. It wasn't what you call challenging work, but it was something new nonetheless. I picked it up quite quickly and could even teach one of my co-interns, who had been there for five months, something new at the end of the day. I'm pretty proud of that. My second and third day were somewhat slower, but still jam-packed with new things to learn. And now the biggest plus of the week: on Friday I started my first long-term project! I'm pretty excited about that, but also kind of nervous, because there are, of course, so many things I can do wrong. Nonetheless, I'm going to give it my all!

Second, the first time I went out with my collegues. As luck would have it, I've landed in the "party-department" of the company, because it is the only department that likes to toast to any special occasion at work with a glass (or two) of prosecco. And this week actually had a special occasion, not only was it my first week, but it was also the last week of the other two interns. So Wendsday we had a glass (or two) of prosecco because of these occasions, and on Thursday we went out for dinner to say goodbye to the leaving interns. I had a lot of fun and got to know my co-workers a little better. I found out that I'm not the only Vampire Diaries and Sherlock geek of the clan and that my dislike of certain actors and actresses (like Penelope Cruz) is actualy shared.
I have also been able to call dibbs on the X-Men poster hanging in the office (now let's hope they remember this in five months).

And third, the first time I've moved into my own room. Today was again moving day, because today I moved into my new room. It felt a little weird doing this all on my own, but in the end everything went smoothly. My roommates are mostly hanging out in their own rooms, so I don't think I'll be having much contact with them, which is too bad, because I'd hoped to have roommates to go places with. But who knows, maybe I'm on the completely wrong track, and they'll turn out to be very social after all. Only time will tell.

On a less positive note. I had some problems with my debit card yesterday. (Thank god that happened only after I bought tickets for the play Shakespeare in Love!) I don't know exactly what was wrong, but for some reason I couldn't pay with my card and couldn't get money out of the ATM's (and yes, I had checked if there was still money on my account). And of course I had absolutely no cash on me at the moment. Luckily I did have some food in my room, so I wasn't going to starve after all. But it did cause me to worry about what was wrong with my card and if I could fix it. In the end it was my very sweet mom who helped me solve my problem. Apparently it was just bad luck on my side, and today everything was just fine again. No worries! I'll have an English debit card soon enough and then I won't have this problem ever again (I hope)!

I'm looking forward to what next week is going to bring, and of course I'll keep you posted about it!

  • 01 September 2014 - 09:04

    Elly:

    Hoi Annik,

    Wat een indrukken heb je al opgedaan zeg.
    En dat in nog maar 1 week.
    Fijn dat je het op je werk al naar je zin hebt.
    Hopelijk blijken je huisgenoten straks mee te vallen en hebben jullie veel plezier aan en met elkaar.

    Maak er een leuke tijd van.
    Geniet ervan.

    Groetjes,

    Elly

  • 01 September 2014 - 20:31

    Annik Delissen:

    Ik sta zelf ook versteld van wat er allemaal op me af komt, Elly. Maar ik geniet ook met volle teugen!

    Ik hoop dat ik nog veel leuke verhalen kan gaan vertellen :)

    Groetjes!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 303
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12994

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: