The final countdown - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu The final countdown - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

The final countdown

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

11 Januari 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

I had a bit of a strange week at work. When I arrived for my first day after two weeks away, there were only four of us present. Add to that that the workflow hadn't actually picked up yet, and what you get is me sitting there at my desk, no work to do. After a while of deleting old, unnecessary files and emails, I started working on my internship report. During the first three days back at work, that was mostly what I was spending my time on. Not what I had expected from my last weeks, but understandable under the circumstances. On Thursday, most of the team members were back from their holidays and work started to come in again, which was very positive for me.

Wednesday night, I went out with Peter and Melissa to see the musical the Phantom of the Opera. It was magnificent. I had only seen the film , so it was still a surprise for me how they would show everything in the musical. Well, let me tell you, it was better, much much better (even though I still love the film). I think all three of us concluded that this was money very well spent. I would go again in a heartbeat.
My excitement that night resulted in me buying not only the DVD of the film, but also a boxset with the DVD of the 25th aniversary musical performed at the Royal Albert Hall and a DVD of an apparent musical sequel of The Phantom of the Opera that is called Love Never Dies. I had never heard of that one before, but I'm going to find out if it's worth buying soon.

On Friday, I did not go to work. Since I had one day left to take off resulting from the overtime I worked during the internship, I decided to take it up last Friday. I used my day to go to Cambridge, because I figured that since I'd been to Oxford already, Cambridge deserved a visit as well. I came to the conclusion that as a student, I would much rather study at Cambridge, because the place does not feel as threatening as Oxford, but for a tourist Oxford has better qualities. I enjoyed my afternoon of walking around the town and looking at churches and Univeristy Buildings, but it didn't feel as special as walking through Oxford a month or so ago.

The weekend I spent mostly studying for the resit I have for an exam I failed last year. I am determined to pass it this time around, so a lot of studying is needed. On Saturday night I did go out with Melissa, Aenea and Peter as a sort of goodbye to London thing. We went to Mother Mash for dinner and afterwards to De Hems, a Dutch bar in London. I had a lot of fun, even though I didn't stay as late as the others, because of the studying that was ahead of me today.

Sadly, no new recipes this week and probably no new ones next week either, I am cleaning out my fridge and cupboard, which means I'm mostly eating whatever kind of goes together. It is working so far.

One more entry next week as I am packing up my things with my parents before I leave on Tuesday the 20th.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 304
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12993

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: