Phone problems, cleaning and laziness - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Phone problems, cleaning and laziness - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Phone problems, cleaning and laziness

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

05 Oktober 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

Seating order changed at work this week, which meant I had to move to anther desk for the third, and most likely final, time. Luckily my computer was moved with me this time, so I didn't have to start up at a whole new computer again. The seat next to me is empty for now, but will be filled by a new intern who is arriving tomorrow. I've been told she's from Germany, so maybe I'll be able to keep up my German now as well. We'll see how it goes.

On to a very different subject. My Dutch phone died last Wednesday. Literally died. This image keeps popping up of an android figure lying on his back with a red triangle with an exclamation mark inside it coming out of it's belly. There's nothing I can do. Friday during my lunch break, I went to a phone repair shop and there was this girl, real sweet, she told me "I can fix this!". It would take her a couple of hours, but I could come pick up my phone as soon as I finished work that day. You have no idea how relieved I was by this. And a very welcome plus to this whole story, it wouldn't cost me a thing. Appearently something like this can happen when you try to update your phone over Wi-Fi, there's nothing I could've done to prevent it.
When I arrived back at work, an email arrived asking if we'd like to go to a screening of Gone Girl at the office of Fox at 6:30 pm. I wasn't going to let an oppurtunity like that pass, so I replied that I would love to come. A few of my collegues were going as well, so that should be fun.
After work (which is at 6 pm) I went out to get my phone back from the shop before going to the screening. Of course, there were other people waiting and there was this really loud customer who wouldn't pay for her repairs, so the waiting took a while. Finaly I was up and I explained to the man helping me that I came to pick up my phone, and where the girl that was going to fix it said she would leave it for me. The man had no idea what I was talking about, but eventually, he found my phone and handed it to me. I checked to see if everything worked again and found out that nothing had changed. I literally could've cried right there on the spot. The reason I'd bought this phone was because my old phone had started to show some problems, and I didn't want to end up with a broken phone while I was in London. Now look what happened...
I had to explain my problem again to the man who was helping me, because he didn't have the slightest idea what was up with my phone. He did contact the girl who had worked on it and she explained to him that she wasn't able to fix my problem and that my phone had to be sent away for repairs. Since there was no other option, I agreed to this solution. Now I have to wait two weeks for my phone to return. I do have a British number, if you'd like to be able to contact me on that, send me a message over facebook, and I'll give it to you.
To top all this off, I was fifteen minutes late to the Gone Girl screening. Because I don't do missing the first fifteen minutes of a film, I went home.
Conclusion: my Friday night, not so great.

Yesterday it rained. I had planned on going to the British Museum, but ended up doing just the things I really had to do, which were: groceries, picking up a parcel from the post office, getting tickets to Les Misérables (I'm going to see it with Winnie 29 December, very exciting stuff!) and cleaning the flat. So I did end up doing something productive.

Today I spent reading "To Kill a Mockingbird". My mom sent it to me a couple of weeks back, it took me a while to get into the story, but now I can hardly stop. There are only thirty pages left, so I'll probably finish it today. After that, Shakespeare's up. Whish me luck...

And now, recipes:
I cooked up a mashup of Marjan's macaroni and pap's macaroni, and put in a bit of my own imagination. I was pretty happy with my result.
I also made Karin's eenvoudige doch voedzame recept, for which I couldn't find the "nasikruiden" at the supermarket, so I had to make something up. It probably didn't turn out the way the recipe would like it to be, but I had a tasty meal anyway, so I'm not complaining.

Now, to end this post, it got finalised this week that Ineke and Friedali, two friends of mine, will be visiting me during the weekend of 25 October. I'm very excited and I cannot wait to see you guys!

  • 05 Oktober 2014 - 20:26

    Elly:

    He Annik, balen van je telefoon zeg. Hopelijk is ie snel gemaakt.
    Heb je het naar je zin op je werk? Leuke collega's?
    Leuk vooruitzicht dat je weer bezoek krijgt van vrienden.
    En dat Winnie in december komt, super leuk.
    Maak er nog een leuke tijd van.
    Groetjes, Elly

  • 05 Oktober 2014 - 21:01

    Friedali:

    Jammer van je telefoon :( Ik hoop dat de mensen daar het snel kunnen fixen.
    Ik heb heel veel zin om te komen!!! :D
    Tot nu toe heb ik nog niet al je verslagen kunnen lezen, maar ik ga mijn best proberen het in te halen ;)
    Heel veel plezier en sowieso tot de 25e! :)

Tags: London, Problems

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 264
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12977

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: