Choccywoccydoodah! (and other things) - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu Choccywoccydoodah! (and other things) - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annik Delissen - WaarBenJij.nu

Choccywoccydoodah! (and other things)

Door: Annik

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annik

28 September 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

I finally learned how to go through the process of quality checks! And all that because there was absolutely no work for me to do, so the only alternative was to teach me something new. I am very happy I finally learned how to do this, because it is a big part of the day to day job of the PSS-department. Now I only need to do it a few times to really get the hang of it.
Something else that happened at work, one of my colleagues left this week to go work for the Montreal office (in Canada). Friday was her last day, and we went out with the department to say goodbye. We had dinner at a restaurant especially chosen for it's belly-dancing night. Not exactly something that would lure me in, but apparently my colleague can dance quite well, and she wasn't afraid to join in with the belly dancer when she passed our table.
That night was also the first time I ever ate Moroccan food. I had a chicken tajine, and I loved it!
Afterwards we went to a pub named The Royal George. Deluxe is well known there, because every time something special happens that's the place to go. It was my first time there, and I must admit, I wasn't really impressed. This might have something to do with the DJ, who didn't have the best taste in music. (And it wasn't just me thinking that!) But all in all, I had a lovely night out with my colleagues.

Saturday I went to the National Gallery with some of the other Zuyd students in London. We'd decided to meet at around 2 o'clock at a statue of a blue bird. We would find each other easily, or so we thought. What we didn't know, was that this Saturday was the day that a Japanese festival was held in the square right in front of the museum. That made things a little bit difficult. Eventually we managed to find each other, and we went inside the Gallery. In the end we only spend one hour there, because we all turned out to be not such big fans of paintings. What we did like was finding some paintings made by famous Dutch painters, like Rembrandt. I mostly admired the building, the big rooms with beautiful ceilings.
After we walked through the gallery we went out into the city and eventually ended up at the Choccywoccydoodah store (some of you might know that name from the television program on TLC with the same name). It was very small, but everywhere you looked there was chocolate. I, of course, was in food heaven. And not just me one of the other students too. We both couldn't resist and had to buy some chocolate. I bought a big plate of marshmallows covered in chocolate, also known as the choccywoccyrocky road. I couldn't be more happy with my choice.
With filled bags and empty purses we went on. Eventually Hamleys came into view, and when it does, you can't walk past it. We ended up spending more time there than we had in the National Gallery, I believe. But we did see every floor and we took a picture with the one and only Queen Elizabeth II made out of lego. Such an amazing shop, even when you're not a child anymore.

And that's it for this week, because today I did absolutely nothing, and I loved it :).

As for recipes:
The mashup of Joke's Broccoli-courgettesoep and Anke & Bjorns Maaltijd-courgettesoep worked out very well. I still have a box in the freezer for the lazy days.
Winnie's pasta met spinazie, boursin en kip. This is one I've made before at home, but it always makes me feel good. Thanks sistah!
I also had a second attempt at Sjoerd, Debbie Angie en Ians Kippetje op z'n Annik's, because the first try didn't exactly turn out the way it was supposed to. This time, I was pretty satisfied with the result.
And tonight I made my ultimate comfort food, I made my mom's Doorgemalen Tomatensoep. Doesn't taste exactly the same, but it's the feeling that counts. And it made me feel very very happy. One box of that in the freezer as well!

No plans for next week yet, but something will most definitely come up!

I'll keep you posted.

  • 29 September 2014 - 09:19

    Elly:

    Klinkt goed, zo'n chocoladewinkeltje.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Annik

Hi! From 23 August 2014 until 18 January 2015, I will be in London doing an internship at Deluxe Media Europe. During my time there I will be keeping this blog to tell you about all the things I do and see. I plan to do and see a lot, so keep an eye out for many stories about all things London!

Actief sinds 21 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 322
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13000

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

My time in London

Landen bezocht: